Go Back   ProSecure Forums > ProSecure STM and UTM Discussion > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 4th, 2011, 11:26 AM
doobie doobie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default Comcast bus modem broadcasting local not wan ip to netgear router

Our fvs318g router is connected to the net via a comcast SMC3DG business class modem. The router is picking up the wan ip as 10.1.10.11 with a gateway address of 10.1.10.1. That is in fact the local ip address of the modem. The real wan ip should be a 65.xxx.xxx.xxx number as verified with www.whatismyip.com.

VPN will not work because the local wanip is showing up as 10.1.10.11.

We've tried dyndns.org and that website is initially picking up the correct wanip, but then refreshing to 10.1.10.11 as our wanip, obviously getting the address from the router.

So VPN using the FQDN of xxxx.dyndns.org won't work either.

We've tried upgrading to the latest firmware version of fvs318g_v3.0.7-22.

I'm at a loss and thinking Comcast is just very clever at forcing its business users to use static IP's for additional charge, but perhaps there is a workaround?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 4th, 2011, 12:36 PM
adit's Avatar
adit adit is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 2,990
Default

http://forum1.netgear.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44 is the correct forum. Register your router for access.

This forum is only for UTM/STM devices.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.