#1  
Old May 29th, 2013, 11:39 AM
mactrekr mactrekr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Default Fw 3.5.0-60 & utm10

So, I've got several UTM9s and they were to one extent or another experiencing 100% CPU load all the time. The bug fix list for 3.5.0-60 states this problem has been addressed and after the upgrade, they are all running at far lower displayed CPU loads. HOWEVER, my UTM10 is pegging out at 100% all the time and needs to be restarted about every 10 days. I know that the UTM9s and the UTM10 share core hardware, and I know that the FW update fixed the UTM9s CPU problems, but when I query the update server from the UTM 10, the latest version that shows up is 3.1.1-31.

Pete your post on 3.5.0-60 states that it is applicable to the UTM10.
I'm wondering;
1) Will this FW update fix the problem with the UTM 10 like it did with the UTM9s?
2) Why is 3.5.0-60 available for the UTM9s, the UTM25 and the UTM50, but not showing up on the UTM10 when I query?
3) Is there an alternative method that I can use to update the UTM10?
4) Why doesn't netgear tech support know about any of this?
I just got off the phone with them and the tech I spoke to didn't even have access to the bug fix list?
Netgear Tech support seems to have suffered greatly in their split from Utah to San Jose and Manilla.
Thanks.
Mac
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 29th, 2013, 03:28 PM
adit's Avatar
adit adit is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 3,020
Default

The 3.5 firmware was pulled from the UTM5 and UTM10.

There is no ETA that I am aware of when it will be reintroduced. I just know that it is being worked on.
__________________
-
64bit SSL VPN How-To - LAN Subnets NOT to Use and SA Lifetime Guidelines

Support Pages - UTM - STM
-
FYI - I am a Reseller and not employed by Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 30th, 2013, 07:09 AM
mactrekr mactrekr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Well that is dissapointing. I'm going to have to go back to 3.0 then and see if it fixes my issue. Pete, you might want to modify the post you made pertaining to this firmware if in fact it is not currently applicable to the UTM5/UTM10.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 30th, 2013, 07:27 AM
adit's Avatar
adit adit is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 3,020
Default

He did, I even linked to his post on it in another thread (Weekly Freezes).
__________________
-
64bit SSL VPN How-To - LAN Subnets NOT to Use and SA Lifetime Guidelines

Support Pages - UTM - STM
-
FYI - I am a Reseller and not employed by Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 31st, 2013, 05:46 AM
rclark rclark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Default

FYI - Just happened to check a couple of my UTM 5/10's this morning, and 3.5.0.60 is listed when querying available firmware updates... guessing it's approved again for the UTM 5/10?

-Randy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 3rd, 2013, 11:10 AM
Pete Pete is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rclark View Post
FYI - Just happened to check a couple of my UTM 5/10's this morning, and 3.5.0.60 is listed when querying available firmware updates... guessing it's approved again for the UTM 5/10?

-Randy
Yes, we removed the new secure email protocol scanning from .60.

Once we solve the current issue with memory on smaller UTMs we will add the them back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:22 PM.